RSS

What I Would Have Written Back After Eight Years Ago

14 Mar

Dear Me,
Thank you for that letter you sent. I appreciate your words of wisdom and in reply to that, I have prepared some for you as well.

ONE: Go out more often.

Nothing pays off from being a couch potato. Yes, watching National Geographic and Discovery Channel helps you discover the world but you have to go out there and explore it yourself too. Remember that the media in itself is selective so it’s not enough to look at the moving images in that electronic, pixelated picture frame.

TWO: Smile.
You have a cute smile, did you ever know? So flash it. If you don’t, you’ll be known in high school and in college as “babaeng nakakatakot tumingin”.

THREE: Engage in household chores.
Otherwise, you will often hear your mom’s ranting every now and then. Besides, it’s something that you can really use as a weapon for independence.

FOUR: Learn to dress as a girl.
You will run out of clothes to wear if your wardrobe consists only od shirts and pants. Say, if I follow your advices, you’d have what it takes to bare some skin.

FIVE: Masturbate…intellectually.
You can not just learn ideas, you have to process them and share them. Intellectual masturbation exercises your mind and hones your interpersonal and communication skills.

SIX: Work out your muscles.
I know, I know. You don’t like sweating and guess what, so do I. But maybe, if again I accomplish the tasks you enumerated for me, moving around would be easy. It’s also relaxing to go for a long walk alone, from time to time.

SEVEN: Initiate. Lead.
Politics. In a small scale, of course. Run for positions in high school, even under no one else’s banner. In college, be involved in an organization you really are interested in. (I know UP ALCHEMES is not where your heart is and I doubt if you’d still be part of it if I had not taken up Chemical Engineering and your blog would not have been named so.) Sorry for being a feeler.😦

EIGHT: Celebrate.

Celebrate what? Life, of course! Do something different on your birthdays and on some other occasions so that you won’t wonder how your teenage years went to waste. At the very least, you can get to slash out some of those 100 things I/you/ we listed. Oh and on your 18th birthday, dance, for whoever-he-is Pete’s sake! You’d look terribly awkward and annoying when you sit like a baby to avoid dancing with your 18 roses.

NINE: Never look for love.
Your life as a teenager would be so much self-centered without boys. (Not negatively) I’m not saying that you should regret having a boyfriend (which surprisingly I do, thinking I should’ve waited for God’s gift in God’s time) because you should know that there are much more important things you should prioritize. And in the end, the experience is not much to love.

TEN: Write. Write. Write.
And never throw away your writings. These testaments are part of you and if you lose them permanently, then permanently will you lose part of yourself that you will only be reminded of after briefing through old writings. No matter how short like a one-liner it is, write it down and treasure it. Because ideas and memories are not constant with respect to time. They are as instantaneous as feelings and circumstances are. And so the only way to immortalize them is to cage them in a space, through writing. Some others may benefit from it too.

I hope that in time, we both change towards what we want for each other. And I hope to hear from you again.

Love,
Myself

P.S.
You did send it eight years ago but it is only now that I’ve received and read it.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2010 in I'm Dead Serious.

 

10 responses to “What I Would Have Written Back After Eight Years Ago

  1. eloiski

    March 17, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    nagulat ako sa number five! akala ko kung ano na yun…

    number 10 agreee! siguro kung yung mga pinagsususlat ko eh naitago ko lahat malaamang na nakagawa na ako ng library!

     
    • Carizza

      March 18, 2010 at 7:25 pm

      Nanghihinayang nga ako kasi gusto ko sana maipublish nga. Kaso what for? Saka anong ipapublish ko. HAHA.

       
  2. raspberryreich

    March 16, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    I don’t care, I still aspire to be a couch potato. Oh wait, I already am😄.

    How do you exactly masturbate intellectually?😄

    Now that your future self wrote a letter for your past self and your past self wrote for your future self and you are now your present self, do you plan to do all this now? O mamaya na lang? Hahahah😄.

     
    • Carizza

      March 18, 2010 at 7:24 pm

      LOL, actually I’d wait for another 8 years for another self to write to myself. I can do this all over again. HAHA.

      Masturbate intellectually. You have to spurt your ideas out with please and satisfaction.😛

       
  3. aperockstar

    March 16, 2010 at 12:41 am

    this follow up post to your earlier post makes it more intersting and special!🙂

     
    • Carizza

      March 16, 2010 at 7:50 pm

      It should be. But it’s otherwise for me.

       
  4. slaveboi

    March 15, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    Okay, all this self writing is leaving me confused.😉 Hahaha. Pero, I get what you’re trying to say here. Still, I hope you don’t think it’s all lost. You can do many of the things you’ve written here.🙂

     
    • Carizza

      March 15, 2010 at 6:12 pm

      Thanks for your support. I’m glad.🙂

       
  5. hastydevil

    March 15, 2010 at 10:34 am

    i hope in five you get to read books as part of masturbating intellectually.

     
    • Carizza

      March 15, 2010 at 6:13 pm

      I maybe should, but I’m lazy. HAHA.

       

Leave a Reply

 
