RSS

To my not-my-dog dog, Ginger

25 Feb

I’ve known you since you were two months old. I would never have thought that you’d grow this that big.

I wasn’t that close to you, not even half as much as Sam and I are. We haven’t slept next to each other, I haven’t hugged you or let you lick my cheek. Well that is, of course, because you’re too huge to be in my bed and I’m too scared to hug you and if I did let you, you could wet my whole face in one licking AND because, above all, you are not my dog.

So why am I writing to you? You can’t read in the first place, and we don’t get together that often. Plus, I will never see you again anyway.

Yes, the reason that I am writing to for you is because I will never see you again.

This is not to sound like a eulogy because you’re not dead (damn well I know you’re not dead) and I’m not the person to reminisce good times with you. I could’ve been, but well, I’m not.

I remember how envious I was when my cousin bought you. You were not exactly the kind of dog I admire but still, you have the blackest (and not to mention, very shiny) fur I’ve ever seen. You’re like eternal night and if you just close your mouth right there which you do when you laze around, you are just magical. I would’ve wanted a guard dog like you because my spoiled Pomeranian German Spitz here just can’t be one as he always just sits on the sofa with the fan infront of him, only that you are too food-consuming and that I can not pick up your poop with tissue paper.

The truth is, I feel so bad about what my cousin did to you and I couldn’t get over it, and what makes me feel badder is that it’s something I couldn’t do anything about.

I will miss playing tug with you and how you can just rip off that rug with those strong jaws. I will miss how you wag your tail whenever I call your name with lambing. I will miss how I watch you eat up Sam’s food in two seconds while he takes hours to get it done. I will miss how I tease you to bite me and then change my mind because I’m afraid you’d bite my finger off. I will miss how you jumped on him and how you can just scare anyone when you bark. I will miss you and I will always do, so long as I could not forget what my cousin and his I’m-sorry-to-say-useless wife did.

I hope wherever you are now, you are being treated humanely. And I hope that the proponents of this, this, unforgivable act are happy with what they did, otherwise, I hope they dream of you every single night.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2010 in I'm Dead Serious.

 

12 responses to “To my not-my-dog dog, Ginger

  1. slaveboi

    March 2, 2010 at 11:57 am

    Awww. Get your own pup na lang so you can lavish him with all your love.🙂

    Back from a long weekend. I hope you had a great one as well.😉

     
    • Carizza

      March 2, 2010 at 11:00 pm

      I have my own dog, but I can’t get over because I’m a dog lover.

      I had a very tiring weekend. Grabe. >.<

       
      • slaveboi

        March 3, 2010 at 10:16 am

        😦 Sorry to hear that. You better get some rest.

         
      • Carizza

        March 3, 2010 at 8:17 pm

        I can’t until Sunday. >.<

         
  2. ODDBLOOD

    February 26, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    i once had a dog named Nate and he was taken from me without my consent..and it really broke my heart..kasi parang friend mo na siya..you feed him, groom him, play with him..and he’s the last thing you’ll resort to when you no longer have anywhere to go..kaya parang nawalan ako ng friend when i lost Nate..and since then, di na ako uli nagalaga ng dog..😐 newey..what exactly happened ba? at least, you know that he’s still alive..and sana maging okei ang treatment sa ex-pet dog mo..😀

     
    • Carizza

      February 26, 2010 at 6:11 pm

      Well, she’s not actually mine, she’s my cousin’s.

      What happened is that because of his wife (that I meant as I describe her here) told him to, he gave the dog away.😦 To a stranger!!!! Without telling us! Sure it’s his dog but we love her more than he does! And I feel soooo bad because Ginger is really a very good dog in contrast to her appearance.

      I’m sure Sam will also be saddened when he finds out that she’s gone.😦

       
      • ODDBLOOD

        February 27, 2010 at 4:35 am

        waahh..that’s so mean of her..’di naman pala sa kanya..dapat sa kanya pinapakagat sa pitbull..hahaw..bad ko noh?😀

         
      • Carizza

        February 27, 2010 at 9:44 am

        I sometimes call her a witch in her face (kahit sarcastic). HAHA. Nah, kasi nga Labrador si Ginger, so pag tumahol, nagrereverberate. HAHA. E nagigising yung baby nila.
        Ah basta, I’m starting to hate her.😡

         
  3. hastydevil

    February 26, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    i hope the dog is as loved now as when you were the companion.

     
    • Carizza

      February 26, 2010 at 6:09 pm

      I do hope so too. And when the time comes that I see her again, I will tell the new owner to give her back if he could.😦

       
  4. Lemon Writer

    February 26, 2010 at 8:52 am

    very emotionally overflowing.

     
    • Carizza

      February 26, 2010 at 6:08 pm

      Actually, I have a lot more to say. Only I couldn’t bring out the words.

       

Leave a Reply

 
